"My rule was I wouldn't recruit a kid if he had grass in front of his house.
That's not my world. My world was a cracked sidewalk." —Al McGuire

Wednesday, September 05, 2007

MU Releases 2007-2008 schedule

More to come on this -- including game by game analysis -- but here's a quick look at the MU schedule ...... including a bevy of national TV games. I tell ya, the Big East ... this is some kind of gauntlet. After a quick glance, a few key points:

  • No more B&G Classic -- thanks to the Maine Black Bears. Mike Broeker explains in Rosiak's blog.
  • MU closes with its three of its final five conference games on the road. MU closes the regular season at the Carrier Dome.
  • MU opens conference play with three of its first four at the Bradley Center. Goodness.
  • Florida Gulf Coast as a home game in March? OK, well, lets hope nobody gets hurt. But I guess it makes sense to fill the deadspace in the schedule -- and MU fans can thank Maine for this one.
  • Toughest week: at Ville and at UConn in mid-January. What a league.
  • Game I most want to see but probably won't: Marquette hosting Georgetown on March 1.
  • Trap game: at SHU on February 12 .... after MU plays at ND and before MU hosts Pitt.
  • EAST COAST RULES: NYWarrior anticipates sick days on Feburary 12 (Seton Hall), Feburary 20 (St John's), February 25 (Villanova), and of course the five-day flu for the Big East Tournament. cough, cough, cough.
Here's the schedule:

Sun., Nov. 4 - 6 p.m. NORTHERN STATE (Exhibition)

Sat., Nov. 10 - 7:30 p.m. IUPUI

Mon., Nov. 12 - 7 p.m. UTAH VALLEY STATE

Mon., Nov. 19 - 1:30 p.m. Chaminade (ESPN2)

Tue., Nov. 20 - TBD vs. Oklahoma St or LSU (ESPN/ESPN2)

Wed., Nov. 21 - TBD vs. Duke/Illinois/Arizona State/Princeton (ESPN/ESPN2/ESPNU)

Fri., Nov. 30 - 7:30 p.m. UW-MILWAUKEE

Sat., Dec. 8 - 5 p.m. at Wisconsin (ESPN2)

Sat., Dec. 15 - 1 p.m. SACRAMENTO STATE

Mon., Dec. 17 - 7 p.m. IP-Fort Wayne

Fri., Dec. 21 - 7:30 p.m. COPPIN STATE

Sat., Dec. 29 - 1 p.m. SAVANNAH STATE


Sat., Jan. 5 - 2:30 p.m. at WEST VIRGINIA (ESPN2)

Tue., Jan. 8 - TBD SETON HALL

Sat., Jan. 12 - TBD NOTRE DAME

Thu., Jan. 17 - 6 p.m. at LOUISVILLE (ESPN/ESPN2)

Sun., Jan. 20 - TBD at CONNECTICUT

Sat., Jan. 26 - TBD DEPAUL

Tue., Jan. 29 - TBD USF

Sat., Feb. 2 - TBD at CINCINNATI

Mon., Feb. 4 - 6 p.m. LOUISVILLE (ESPN)

Sat., Feb. 9 - 11a.m. at NOTRE DAME (ESPN)

Tue., Feb. 12 - TBD at SETON HALL

Fri., Feb. 15 - 8 p.m. PITTSBURGH (ESPN)

Wed., Feb. 20 - 6 p.m. at ST. JOHN'S (ESPN2)

Sat., Feb. 23 - TBD RUTGERS

Mon., Feb. 25 - 6 p.m. at VILLANOVA (ESPN)

Sat., March 1 - 1 p.m. GEORGETOWN (CBS)

Tues., March 4 - 7 p.m. FLORIDA GULF COAST

Sat., March 8 - 1 p.m. at SYRACUSE (ESPN)

Rosiak's blog on the schedule.

MUScoop wiki on the schedule.

GoMarquette.com on the schedule

No comments: